Emma Alington

Emma Alington“Designing is creating gifts for people.

Creating an identity within my work is a very important element. I am design driven, so even things that have the potential to be mass-produced must have an anchor which links myself – the maker – and the consumer to the product.

My family heraldry has played an integral part in some of my most recent work. My identity became my branding, which gave a strong sentimental value to the work.

I predominately slip cast in porcelain. The nature of the material once it has been highly fired is beautiful. I enjoy playing with surface quality as well as form.

I enjoy every aspect of the design process; inspiration can come from anything and anywhere.

I am currently working on a project with Rococo Chocolates, using the concept of luxury ceramic gift packaging.”

www.emmaalington.co.uk

Emma Alington

Do you consider yourself an artist or designer?

A designer.

Which artists/designers do you admire?

Conran, Portmerian, and LSA International all produce fantastic high quality wares that resonate with me. I like that they’re functional and beautiful.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

I try and source inspiration from anything and everything, while still trying to be selective, which can be a difficult balance to achieve! Food has been a source of inspiration for me time and time again- last year one of my projects drew inspiration from cakes and icing, while this year I’m working on a project with Rococo Chocolates.

What has been the best thing about studying at CSM?

Getting the opportunity to work in a buzzing environment full of friends, and being in London. CSM has so much energy, and there’s nowhere else quite like London from an art and design point of view. There’s so many galleries and every kind of retail space imaginable.

How does your degree show project differ from your other work?

I’m trying to make it as realistic as possible- a commercial project producing a product that could actually exist. My previous work has been more conceptual and leaning towards one-offs or very small runs of slip cast wares.

Any plans following graduation?

I hope to get a job where I can work with other designers. I suppose the dream one day is to have my own line, but I need to get a grip on the industry before I dive into that, for funding reasons and also for the experience

Anything else we should know about you?

I’m a complete Nutella addict…

Leave a Reply

